One down, 3 to go.

Last weekend I had some extra time and I thought I would get the Cider on its way. It was a fairly painless and easy process that I highly recommend everyone trying out. I think one of the great things about Ciders and Meads is how little effort and time they take to get going. If you don’t have the time to setup for a full brewday you can always squeeze a batch in here and there. I think it took my about an hour from start to finish, mostly because I steeped some grains at the recommendation of the recipe author.

cider-parts

The one thing seen in the picture below that kind of threw me off was how little water was instructed to use to steep the grains.

steep1

This was just after placing the grains into the water, it was heated up to about 154’F.  I allowed them to steep for about 20minutes at this temp, then sparged with another quart of water at 170’F.  It seemed to end up working anyways and I after tasting the wort I noticed why using the grains was suggested in the first place. It really added a nice malty, faint toasty flavor to it. I am really excited that its going to help boost the body as the result, which will keep this from being as “watery” as my last batch of cider.

One thing I noted was how dark this stuff ended up, obviously the chocolate malts did it, but I am not sure why mine came out so dark. Its not really a big deal, and I am sure once done in a glass it will look really nice.

cider-carboy

Just to note, I did go ahead and toss in a can of apple concentrate. My thinking was a slight boost in gravity and apple flavor that might carry through better. I ended up with about a 1.052 gravity reading, which should make this stuff end up in the 6.5% ABV range. To me thats perfect for a cider!

cider-hydro

Thats pretty much it for the cider, I will take some finished pictures once its done. As far as this weekend its going to be in the mid 50s, great brewing weather! I will be getting the other two batches done then, and hopefully maybe tomorrow evening getting the orange blossom mead on its way.

Side note: I smoked a pork butt last sunday, it was delicious!

pork-butt

pulled-pork

Thanks for stopping by and giving me a read, if anyone ever has any questions or wants some help don’t hesitate to email me! aleforge@gmail.com

Cheers.

3 Responses to “One down, 3 to go.”

  1. Matthew Says:

    What was the recipe you followed — I’d like to try adding grain to my cider, and would like also to know how you like the results.

    cheers!
    –Matthew

  2. Matthew Says:

    Oh, I just read the next post and — there’s the recipe!!
    never mind.

  3. Hey Matthew, the majority of people who made this recipe commented that is wasn’t bad defiantly drinkable. However I would omit the chocolate malts if I tried it again. So far its still carbing / aging I have not cracked open another bottle. But will post pictures and my final take on it shortly!

Leave a Reply

