Pumpkin Rack.

Well so my idea to dump 5 large cans of pumpkin into the boil was a huge mistake. I was warned by several people, but then It also came suggested by many others. In the end I lost 2 gallons of brew, I racked off the massive amount of sludge last night. I am getting a FG reading of 1.015 which seems to be on par with what it should be, however it tastes very light.  I am thinking since I lost so much to the sludge, especially when it moved from the pot to the carboy that it just didn’t turn out right. Does it taste undrinkable? No not really, it just lacks much of anything. The spices come through a touch, the pumpkin only slightly and hops seem to of went on vacation. I am going to go ahead and let this secondary for a few weeks then bottle. Who knows maybe it will ripen.

So the weekend approaches, and I have batch one of three to complete for the competition in January. Lets see that’s about 2 months away, and what style am I brewing? Scotch ale, my all time favorite! But wait not just any scotch ale, a Wee Heavy! YES a freaking WEE HEAVY, with only 2 months to spare! I am such an idiot, I honestly forgot how much more time is needed for this style to come into its prime. Its too late now as I am ready to go and got my recipe tuned in. It should be drinkable, but usually Wee Heavys peak 3-6 months in! Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

