MEAD, it’s whats for .. breakfast.

I attempted my first MEAD last weekend, its a variation of the “JAOM” recipe. Malkore from the “homebrewtalk” forums posted it and many of us grabbed it up to try. The advantages to this recipe are the MEAD ferments out very quickly. Leaves a lot of sweetness and hits up around 12% ABV. How quickly? Try a month, thats fermented, tossed through a secondary and bottled. If you know anything about MEADS most take a very long time to age and finish up. Up to a year in fact. I don’t have that much patience, that’s the main reason I had not tried to create my own batch.  The “JOAM” recipe accomplished this but took around 8 months of aging to drop its bitterness. Malkore found a remedy for this by swapping out the bread yeast for Wyeast’s 4184 Mead yeast. This allowed a much quicker time frame with a drinkable mead in 1 month, although Malkore recommends allowing it to age, as the mead still improves over time.

This is the recipe:

Malkore’s (not so) Ancient Orange Mead
Wyeast 4184 Mead Yeast
5lbs of Honey – Malkore used 3lbs alfalfa / 2lbs clover
Few gallons of spring water
Zest of an Orange, with its Juices squeezed out
2 sticks of Cinnamon
2 whole cloves
Yeast Nutrient / Energizer

Bring the 1.8 gallons of water up to around 160’F, this is suppose to help ward off any bacteria and help dissolve the honey. I would then fill up the sink in the mean time with hot water from the tap and allow the honey to hang out while the stove top water come up to heat. Once to heat dump in the honey and mix it up well with a spoon. Then add the zest, clove, cinnamon sticks and nutrients. Let it hang out in the pot around 150-160’F for 10-15 minutes. Then cool it down in a ice bath in the sink, or just cold water. Transfer with a strainer into the fermenting container. Add your yeast (its a smack pack so give it a few hours to swell), pop on a airlock and let it do its thing. This should take around 3 weeks to be done. I took a hydrometer reading and the OG was 1.095 @ 65’F. This should come down to the 1.010-1.015 range I would guess, but I haven’t gotten that far yet!

Some things I did different then Malkore’s recipe. First off I didn’t have cinnamon sticks, I thought we had some but didn’t check before things were going. So I just used 1 tbs of cinnamon powder. I have no idea how strong this will end up, but it smelled great and I got my fingers crossed. I am hoping the particles settle out enough to not “cloud” up the mead at bottling. It most likely will expecially since I will be putting them in a secondary. I also did not add any orange juice. I have heard reports of sourness coming from using orange juices so I skipped it. I figured the zest would give me just the touch of orange I wanted anyways. And I lastly I did not mix honey variaties. I got a good price on 5lbs of clover honey and just went with it. The more varieties you use, the more complex flavor profile you can attain, but this was my first shot so I will get over it.

So that’s it, Malkore’s (not so) Ancient Orange Mead recipe. As soon as its done, I will take some pictures and give a review on how it turned out.

 

4 Responses to “MEAD, it’s whats for .. breakfast.”

  1. Eww… homemade horse manure in a bottle.

  2. Taipans Says:

    For the record the “Chauncers” mead did infact have a weird aroma to it.

  3. Where is the picture of the grass you killed?

  4. I’m totally impressed, this is a lot more than I expected when I stumpled upon a link on SU telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

